By Small and Simple Things

I find it intriguing how much we can learn about each of Alma’s sons by just reading the counsel that he gives each of them.  In chapter 37: 39-40, Alma references the Liahona, “It was prepared to show unto our fathers the course which they should travel in the wilderness. And it did work for them according to their faith.”  Therefore, they could not just travel in whatever direction it decided to point to that day; rather, they had to “believe that God could cause that those spindles should point the way they should go.”  I noticed that the compass worked day by day, rather than give large amounts of revelation all at once.

Alma warns Helaman of laziness as well, reminding him that his ancestors had been “slothful, and forgot to exercise their faith and diligence” (41).  I infer that Helaman’s weakness was the tendency to be a little forgetful in continually having a serious study of the scriptures, or forgetting to counsel with the Lord in all things first.

After continuous asking for direction concerning a career path this semester, I felt as if I kept getting mixed answers, or unclear answers.  I’ve slowly come to the conclusion that it doesn’t matter to Heavenly Father.  His plan for me will still work no matter what career I choose, I will still learn the principles I need to in different ways.  This has frustrated me a little bit, probably because of selfish reasons.  I like the idea of having a specific calling in life, or something that I can absolutely KNOW that I am meant for.  I want to choose the path that will be BEST for my future family, and one that I will find the MOST joy in.  Lately I would say that I have become slothful in asking for direction. I’ve come to the conclusion that I just need to make a decision and go with it.

However, as I read Alma 37, I became aware that as long as we search the words of Christ and heed to them, they will “point to you a straight course to eternal bliss…into a far better land of promise” (44-45).  Heavenly Father does care and will show me the BEST path.  I just have to believe that He can, and stay faithful in diligently searching the scriptures.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

