Love at Home

I was lucky enough to spend the entire last week in beautiful San Diego, with my family.  We had so much fun laughing and making memories, but I noticed something that bothered me quite a bit.  The fact that it is easiest to be biting and angry towards the ones you feel most comfortable with, who are naturally the ones you generally love most.  Now that I don’t live at home anymore, I’m not with my family constantly, and when I am, we usually don’t have enough time to argue.  Being around roommates and friends, generally there isn’t any conflict in my case, and if there is, it is avoided or cleared up pretty quickly.  However, this past week I was with my family constantly, through the good and bad moods of everyone.

4 Nephi 1:15 depicts the peaceful and happy state of the Nephites and Lamanites as they are righteous and follow the commandments.  Nephi attributes the prosperity they were given to the “love of God which did dwell in the hearts of the people. Verse 16 goes on to explain why there was no contention, “there were no envyings, nor strifes, nor tumults…nor any manner of lasciviousness.” This passage of scripture relates perfectly to how disputes sometimes go within families.  I can think of an instance that happened this past week for everyone of the adjectives in verse 16.

If we have mastered being kind and patient to roommates and friends, or people outside our families, what is it worth if we lack the ability to show the same attributes towards our immediate family, the ones we love most?

I’m very grateful for repentance and the patience that Heavenly Father has with me, and His child.  I’m thankful that I can continually move forward with more patience and consciousness of how to act Christlike toward my loved ones.

Leave a Reply

